Western-mystery film “The Hateful Eight” by Quentin Tarantino

Theatrical premiere: December 25, 2015 (United States)
Starring: Samuel L. Jackson, Kurt Russell, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Walton Goggins, Demián Bichir, Tim Roth, Michael Madsen, and Bruce Dern.

The Hateful Eight

Director: Quentin Tarantino
Screenwriter: Quentin Tarantino
Running time: 2 hr 47 min
Budget: $44 million


Six or eight or twelve years after the Civil War, a stagecoach hurtles through the wintry Wyoming landscape. The passengers, bounty hunter John Ruth (Kurt Russell) and his fugitive Daisy Domergue (Jennifer Jason Leigh), race towards the town of Red Rock where Ruth, known in these parts as “The Hangman,” will bring Domergue to justice. Along the road, they encounter two strangers: Major Marquis Warren (Samuel L. Jackson), a black former union soldier turned infamous bounty hunter, and Chris Mannix (Walton Goggins), a southern renegade who claims to be the town’s new Sheriff. Losing their lead on the blizzard, Ruth, Domergue, Warren and Mannix seek refuge at Minnie’s Haberdashery, a stagecoach stopover on a mountain pass. When they arrive at Minnie’s, they are greeted not by the proprietor but by four unfamiliar faces. Bob (Demian Bichir), who’s taking care of Minnie’s while she’s visiting her mother, is holed up with Oswaldo Mobray (Tim Roth), the hangman of Red Rock, cow-puncher Joe Gage (Michael Madsen), and Confederate General Sanford Smithers (Bruce Dern). As the storm overtakes the mountainside stopover, our eight travelers come to learn they may not make it to Red Rock after all…

“The Hateful Eight” Trailer

“The Hateful Eight” Cast in Stills

Samuel L. Jackson as Major Marquis Warren a.k.a. “The Bounty Hunter”

Samuel L. Jackson in The Hateful Eight (2015)

Kurt Russell as John Ruth a.k.a. “The Hangman”

Kurt Russell in The Hateful Eight (2015)

Tim Roth as Oswaldo Mobray a.k.a. “The Little Man”

Tim Roth in The Hateful Eight (2015)

Jennifer Jason Leigh as Daisy Domergue a.k.a. “The Prisoner”

Jennifer Jason in The Hateful Eight (2015)

Walton Goggins as Sheriff Chris Mannix a.k.a.”The Sheriff”

Walton Goggins in The Hateful Eight (2015)

Bruce Dern as General Sanford “Sandy” Smithers a.k.a. “The Confederate”

Bruce Dern in The Hateful Eight (2015)

Michael Madsen as Joe Gage a.k.a. “The Cow Puncher”

Michael Madsen in The Hateful Eight (2015)

Channing Tatum as Jody Domergue

Channing Tatum in The Hateful Eight (2015)

And also:

Demián Bichir as Bob a.k.a. “The Mexican”
James Parks as O.B. Jackson
Dana Gourrier as Minnie Mink
Zoë Bell as Six-Horse Judy
Lee Horsley as Ed
Gene Jones as Sweet Dave
Keith Jefferson as Charly
Craig Stark as Chester Charles Smithers
Belinda Owino as Gemma
Quentin Tarantino as Narrator

The Weinstein Company